Speakerplans.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > General > Newbie Discussion
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Advice on building my first rig

Post Reply Post Reply
Author

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Phat Camel Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Advice on building my first rig
    Posted: 14 January 2017 at 7:34pm
Hi all, I'm new to this so please bear with me. 

I'm looking to begin building a basic rig for use at outdoor events catering for predominantly House & Techno.

I've had a good look through the plans available on the site and I'm thinking of going with 2x 1850 Horns plus 2x X15 mid / tops as a start. 

I have little to no carpentry skills, so would be employing a skilled carpenter to do the cabinet builds, I do have a solid (ish) knowledge of live sound so I'm more confident on the setting up part. 

What recommendations would you make based on what I've stated for amps, drivers, crossovers etc? I'm on a fairly tight budget... Also, I live in Dubai so there isn't as easy access to some of the brands (P-Audio) mentioned in the plans.

Also, I see most of the systems seem to be set up in a single stack configuration, I would prefer to run the system in stereo rather than mono but maybe there is a reason for the mono (appearing) stacks?

Appreciate any advice and tips! Smile 

pczjm View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote pczjm Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 19 January 2017 at 5:33pm
I was considering the X15s myself recently, the recommended drivers are discontinued now and the replacements don't fit in the plans as they are. You can modify the plans, choose different drivers (best to model them in the box though, people have posted results here somewhere) or pick new plans. I'm half way through building the 18 sound 15"/1.4" full-range boxes instead, will post when built.  
cookie-dj View Drop Down
Young Croc