Speakerplans.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > General > Newbie Discussion
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Bass speakers for an event

Post Reply Post Reply Page  123>
Author

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Ray-j-17 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Bass speakers for an event
    Posted: 15 September 2016 at 12:00am
If you have a problem, if no one else can help, and if you can find them, maybe you can hire the S-Team. (S being speaker... as in the members of this forum who seem to be speaker gods from what i have read)

anyway, joking aside.... id like to point out straight of the bat that I'm a lighting technician, the most experience i really have with speakers is my surround sound in my room. and yet I'm now being asked to source enough bass speakers to fill a medium school auditorium on a shoestring budget...
basically, I'm running events at my school (year 11) in the hall (floor space: 11m x 19m approx..) and i need to source some speakers, new, used, anything. i have found a pair of Wharfdale EVP-X15B's while the moneys right, i have no real idea whether they would be adequate. it only really matters that i fill about 3/4 of the hall from the front with a basic rumble from the speakers.

oh and to make matters more complicated (to me anyway, this is probably to you like doing 1+1 is for me), i need to also get an amplifier for them. which of course i have no ideas about either.

the information i can tell you (which is all that i know) is that the room has installed 4x wharfdale pro titan 12"/15" (cannot remember which) speakers, they are running of amps mounted on a small flight case the school mainly uses as an exam desk/writing table/drinks bar, basically a table.
anyway, i do not know what amps the school use unfortunately, but to my knowledge they only have enough ones to power these four speakers.