Speakerplans.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > General > Newbie Discussion
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Building a sound system as a complete noob

Post Reply Post Reply Page  123>
Author

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Futendra Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Building a sound system as a complete noob
    Posted: 28 April 2016 at 10:12am
Hi!
Me and a friend would like to build our own sound system, but we have almost no knowledge about speakers.

The idea is to build:
2x 186 Horn
2x MT 102

I know that I need a 3-way crossover first, so we are looking for one right now (currently talking to someone for a DAP Audio ACX-34), but the main problem is that we do not know if we can put any cheaper drivers in these cabinets. Are there any lower-budget drivers that would work out in these?

The things that I found that could be within our budget range are:
186 Horn:
Eminence Sigma Pro 18A-2

MT 102:
Eminence Delta 10A
Eminence APT150V2

Are these "compatible" with the cabinets? If not, what should I look for and what should I consider? What would I need next?

Edited by Futendra - 28 April 2016 at 10:20am
all bass View Drop Down
Old Croc
Old Croc

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote all bass Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 28 April 2016 at 6:10pm
Not compatible!

For 102 you will need a 10 inch with "horn" specs. Compare the recommended drivers vs the delta...

And a big and potent compression driver to be able to cross low enough to the 10" drivers to avoid beaming.
https://www.instagram.com/my_modular_journey/
Futendra View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Futendra Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 28 April 2016 at 6:42pm
Originally posted by all bass all bass wrote:

Not compatible!

For 102 you will need a 10 inch with "horn" specs. Compare the recommended drivers vs the delta...