Speakerplans.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > General > 12v Powered Systems
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Class D amp + Active Crossover Advice

Post Reply Post Reply
Author

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote shakti Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Class D amp + Active Crossover Advice
    Posted: 05 April 2014 at 3:23pm
Hiya,

I've been researching for a little while about 12v systems but am still a total newbie so go easy on me Tongue

I am hoping to build a 12v system with a 12" speaker (400w or 500w), 2x 6" speakers (200w each) for mids and a piezo horn tweeter or array on top. (mainly playing a reggae/dub sound)

I've been looking into getting the 3000w The Loudest Class D car amp (http://www.theloudest.co.uk/?sectionid=2&page=view_product&product_id=102). I originally had my eye on the 5 channel 3000w amp from them but it is Class AB and have seen a lot of people saying that this will drain the power much faster than Class D.

Into this I would have a 3 way active crossover (something like this? http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Lanzar-OPTI-3-Three-Way-Car-Audio-Amplifier-Amp-Active-Splitter-Crossover-/351029145247?pt=UK_In_Car_Technology&hash=item51baf7ae9f)

But I am thinking about how much power that is also going to use.... so power saving wise would I be better off having a Class AB amp with multiple channels and no active crossover or a Class D amp with a three way active crossover?

Does anyone recommend any other amps/active crossovers than the links I have posted? Do I need a 3000w amp? Have I got it totally wrong? Any advice will be much appreciated!!

Smile

Edited by shakti - 05 April 2014 at 3:30pm
patryk1305 View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote patryk1305 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 05 April 2014 at 3:38pm
Class D is more efficient than Class AB so you are better off with a class D amp.