Speakerplans.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Other Chat > Computer Talk
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

starting out

Post Reply Post Reply
Author

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote moran247 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: starting out
    Posted: 22 October 2014 at 10:40am
Hi guys,

Im new to all this stuff I personally don’t know about all these amps, energy levels, different speakers, drivers etc. BUT I have been chosen to help with a server for a rig (or as you may call it sound system).

I am very good at computers and IT. I work with servers everyday.

Yet I cannot see where a server could play a role in a sound system, Yes you may need to check stats of bass and treble etc but that’s about it , I don’t see how it will manage it.

Better yet what would I need to do, if the server is working fine now, what would I need to help out with? Im supposed to be helping with the amp rack, could someone tell me what that entails?

Just wanted to know if there is anything I could bring to this sound system maybe some software that could benefit the organisation? At the moment we are using a DAW (digital audio workstation)

I was just wondering if anyone could give me a head’s up with what I should be doing.

Thank you for your time,

Morgan

cravings View Drop Down
Old Croc
Old Croc

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote cravings Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 22 October 2014 at 11:07am
someone must have told you what the server is to serve?

or maybe, and more likely, they just want a rack mount pc, and are calling that a server?

a rack mount pc could be used for music recording or playback... if they want one for an amprack, i suppose work on making it as rugged as it can be if it's going to be travelling around in an amp rack.

think you really need to find out more about what they want it to do?
moran247 View Drop Down