Speakerplans.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Other Chat > Roots n Culture Forum
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Dub soundsystems and mixing

Post Reply Post Reply
Author

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote m0gsi Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Dub soundsystems and mixing
    Posted: 09 March 2016 at 11:30pm
Just quick straw poll and I'm after some opinions

When it comes to selection, how many soundmen on here mix or play single deck style? And what do you prefer to hear?

I'm just starting out and what I've found with mixing is that it does force your hand regarding selection if you want all the transitions to be smooth.
King Simeon View Drop Down
Young Croc
Young Croc

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote King Simeon Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 10 March 2016 at 7:37pm
In nearly 20years I've never seen/heard a 'Dub' sound mix in a tune/double decks. 
https://www.facebook.com/KingSimeonSound?ref=stream     
https://soundcloud.com/king-simeon
wiz247 View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote wiz247 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 10 March 2016 at 8:22pm
Disco & house I mix, for roots/dub definitely not for me, I'm in a different zone. However with the digi dub style, if a guy know his sh!t and got skills, I can see how he/she could possibly make it work.
duppy conqueror View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote duppy conqueror Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 11 March 2016 at 10:08am
my opinion is that roots should be started from top.. not mixed
 I come from a mixing background, but I'm not mixing anymore. maybe I'm getting old
sometimes I beatmix little in the prelistening on the headphone but always release from top
m0gsi View Drop Down