Speakerplans.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > General > Newbie Discussion
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Cheers and a few questions from a noob

Post Reply Post Reply
Author

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Antik One Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Cheers and a few questions from a noob
    Posted: 07 October 2016 at 3:23am
First of all, I'd like to say hello you fine folks. I've been digging fairly heavy through your forum for a couple weeks now. You guys seem to have a lovely community here.
So I'll give a bit of an introduction, not that I imagine anyone cares... But I'd prefer to become a part of this community rather than just a lurker mooching some information now and again. My name is Peter, I'm a Yank. I hope you won't hold it against me. I've been djing for about 15 years. Mostly dnb/jungle/dubwise/halftime, some techno, some dub, some weird gypsyesq psychedelic multi genre stuff (desert dwellers for example), ambient, and on occasion some house. The city I live in is fairly large, yet has shit for sound. Mostly off the shelf QSC gear with the gain tapped out and no mixing board. There is one decent Bassboss rig that comes out now and again from a nearby city, but I'd like to have something local. There are a few Dj crews doing events around town and we are in rooms that range from 130-300 people.
I'm thinking of putting together a modular rig suitable for these small environments (ideally capable of outdoor small events too), but expandable. I'd like to be able to feel the bass well and keep the sound crisp and detailed. Reflex bins with some 2x12+1 tops. I was thinking possibly kick bins, but from what I've gathered I'd lose stereo at that point.

I'm curious does it make sense to use subs with a lower power requirement in larger numbers for larger cone surface area to move more air for lows and EQ the mids to give punch?