Speakerplans.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Plans > New Projects Forum
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Wharfedale Delta 218 with RCF Drivers

Post Reply Post Reply
Author

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote djteknovibe Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Wharfedale Delta 218 with RCF Drivers
    Posted: 23 November 2016 at 8:33pm
I have two Wharfedale Delta 218 dual 18" subs that i've used for quite a while and they're pretty good subs but instead of selling them for something more powerful I was thinking about taking out the drivers and putting in either RCF LF18G401 or L18P300 drivers. I'm leanign towards the G401 due to it having a bit higher xmax.

I've used WinISD to plot the probably frequency response (i'm not a pro at using it) and all looks ok to me. The subs both have two seperate chambers, one for each driver and the internal volume of each chamber is (as far as I can work out after measuring inside and calculating) about 143litres. The insides of each chamber measurements are :  depth : 560mm, width : 470mm, height : 500mm, the 4 port are triangular and the measurements of each port (each sub chamber has 4 ports) is 390mm long x 150mm wide x 80mm high. Inside each sub chamber 18mm thick bracing runs from top to bottom and is 100mm depth.

Do you guys think 143 litres for each chamber is about right and am I right in thinking the RCF LF18G401 or the RCF L18P300 drivers would be perfectly fine? I want to upgrade the drivers because I want better sound quality and higher output of bass, I play drum & bass, techno and oldskool hardcore rave which really punishes most subs when run full.

Edited by djteknovibe - 23 November 2016 at 8:34pm
cookie-dj View Drop Down
Young Croc
Young Croc

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote cookie-dj Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 24 November 2016 at 4:40am
G401 is better for bandpass or horn loading.