Speakerplans.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > General > General Forum
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Speaker Suggestions

Post Reply Post Reply
Author

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote GreedyG Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Speaker Suggestions
    Posted: 02 August 2014 at 3:59am
Hi All

Newbie here.  I've got some new turntables on the way (Reloop 7000s) and a bogstandard Numark mixer but I've got no idea what speakers to buy.

I know that cheap ones like Skytec etc are crappy but I don't have a very big budget - 500 quid max for a pair.  Do I get active or passive, will I need an amp too and so on? 

I'll be playing in pubs and small clubs to anywhere from 20 to 200 people.

Cheers

Gordy
GreedyG View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote GreedyG Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 02 August 2014 at 4:00am
Just to add, I'll be playing reggae and soul so need nice low end of course and decent mids for the vocals.  
mitchiemasha View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote mitchiemasha Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 02 August 2014 at 4:39pm
First and most important question... WHAT BUDGET????
dylan-penguinmedia View Drop Down
Old Croc
Old Croc

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote dylan-penguinmedia Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 02 August 2014 at 4:42pm
500 quid - says so very clearly
SoundsUnlimited View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote SoundsUnlimited Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 02 August 2014 at 5:01pm
These will offer you the best value for money in my opinion, and there's the option to add a sub or 2 later on.  

http://www.thomann.de/gb/ev_zlx_12p.htm
GreedyG View Drop Down