Speakerplans.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > General > Newbie Discussion
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

a load of newbie questions + martin audio Q's

Post Reply Post Reply Page  12>
Author
Young Croc
Young Croc

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote teeth Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: a load of newbie questions + martin audio Q's
    Posted: 05 July 2021 at 11:13pm
hi there,

firstly, massive respect to every one of you, you are dead friendly, and all know your stuff.

i'm really new to this so missing some basic principles, perhaps you can help. don't have anyone to show me this stuff, i'm just feeling my way around! i feel like these are maybe silly questions, i'm starting to understand power and ohms and the rest of it, but i'm sure there's some bits i'm missing.

i've just picked up a pair of Martin F12, i want to build a little martin PA. i have heard martin stuff before and i really like the way it sounds. it's not too big too.
i see they are 300w with 1200 peak, so i can power two with my 900w amp, right? it's a studiospares 900+ trojan. or do i have to have an amp that's rated higher than the peak? for 2 speakers, that would have to be over 2000w, right?

i will now need to get some subs, it seems like the S12 or S15 will be best. (any opinions on those are welcome!)
they are 500w, or 1000w peak, so i need to get a minimum of 1000w amp for these, but probably a 2000w one to be safe?

i see they have built in cross overs, does this mean that i don't need to get a crossover? the F12 is "2kHz passive" and the subs are "120Hz passive / active"

one last question! i see that at the top of page 9 here, there is a diagram showing the amp going in to the sub, and then chained out to the top.
https://martin-audio.com/downloads/archive/userguides/BKLINE_EN.pdf