Speakerplans.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > General > Newbie Discussion
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Acoustic measurements guidance

Post Reply Post Reply
Author

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Foca_Dacian Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Acoustic measurements guidance
    Posted: 10 February 2018 at 2:40am
I am new to measurements and I'm a little overwhelmed with the different types of measurements and need some guidance.

I have installed REW, I have an external sound card, condenser omnidirectional measurement mic, I followed the steps in the REW help section, calibrated the sound card,made all the necesary connections and took my first measurements of a bi-amped 12 inch+1.4 inch top using this type of measurement:

Each driver at a time and then the two playing together.

The whole measurement setup was: ECM 999 superlux mic on a stand 1 meter from the loudspeaker aimed at the acoustic center, connected to a Steinberg UR22 on input 1, from output 2 on the UR22 I made a loop and fed it to channel two,from channel one output I sent signal to one channel on a DBX Driverack pa2 , from that to the High out and to HF amp in  and from mid out to MF amp in.

Made the necesary level calibrations using pink noise and the level meters in REW ,clicked on measure and voila, i got a graph.
I have seen the peaks on the HF section and corected them with the PEQ in the DBX, and measured and PEQ and measure getting it as flat as I could.
Same thing with the mid section, that had a surprisingly fast roll off after 200 hz,probabily some cancelation due to the position or to much fonoabsorbant in the box,lowering tuning and LF efficiency ( just an asumption, please correct me if I'm wrong.)