Speakerplans.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Plans > Scoops
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Adding sub to my setup (noob question)

Post Reply Post Reply
Author

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote asaa00 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Adding sub to my setup (noob question)
    Posted: 29 January 2008 at 3:54am
HelloBig%20smile  I'm a total newbie here, forgive me for the long/stupid post :p

Anyway, I was recently given 2 vintage custom Bag-End mid-tops... My friends and I have been using this for a few weeks in a small room and the speakers sound great!... but they completely lack low-end; The kicks hit, but not low at all, and there is no sub-bass.  This is fine just to practice our sets (we DJ), but we're looking to build suitable subs, so we can start throwing medium/small sized events and playing outdoors.

We spin (in no order)Drum and Bass, Dubstep, and Electro (tech house+gritty analog basslines), and are looking to build a couple of bins (with plans to upgrade in the future) for some serious bass (we have a fetish for skull imploding, analog bass).  After doing some reading here, it seems as if going with a couple of 18" scoops would provide the best value for what I'm looking for, but most of what I've read had been information intended for a dub system(long, sustained, deep sub-bass notes).  Would scoops still be my best option with the genres I'm working with, or should I look into other types of enclosures? 

I was specifically looking at building two Hog's, maybe two Superscoops with either PD1850's or V18-1200's inside 'em...thoughts?  I understand the throw on the superscoops might be too far small/medium events, but would be useful outdoors... would this be a problem for me?  Also, since most posts on here regarding scoops are for dub music, would they provide me with enough tight response needed for Electro/House?