Speakerplans.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > General > Advanced Discussion
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Amplifier power rating vs. frequency

Post Reply Post Reply Page  12>
Author

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Carl Klinkenborg Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Amplifier power rating vs. frequency
    Posted: 26 May 2020 at 10:01am
Hi All,

Newbie here; apologies if this in the wrong forum - perhaps mods could move if so!

I am considering purchasing a 4-channel Class D amp from a reputable company who have performed their own testing and advertise it with real-world power ratings under varying conditions such as EIAJ burst and continuous RMS, but it is not recommended for sub use, when overheating would cause shutdown.  

Stated simply, what makes an amplifier unable to output equal power into the same load (let's assume a purely resistive load for now) at low frequencies compared with higher frequencies, when mathematically the power in a sine wave remains independent of period?

Cheers, Carl.
Earplug View Drop Down
Old Croc
Old Croc

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Earplug Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 26 May 2020 at 10:46am
The difference is a prime example of the difference between theory and practice! And why you need to be very careful about the specs given by some manufacturers.  Dead

To keep it short, I´d say that the lower frequencies are (usually) served by larger drivers, with larger coils and so need more current drive to move. As simple as that.

Earplugs Are For Wimps!
studio45 View Drop Down
Old Croc
Old Croc

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote studio45 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 26 May 2020 at 1:53pm