Speakerplans.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > General > Newbie Discussion
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Amps for 4-way soundsystem

Post Reply Post Reply
Author

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Ribbitman Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Amps for 4-way soundsystem
    Posted: 06 June 2020 at 7:56am
I'm just beginning plans for a 4-way one stack soundsystem.  Minimal audio competency here; your anticipated indulgence is kindly appreciated. Below are possible drivers, perhaps not the ones that end up on the system, to give an idea of the power needs.

Subs: 2x PD 1850 (800 W power rating at 8 ohm)
Low-mids: 2x PD 154 (500 W power rating at 8 ohm)
Mid-tops: 2x PD (300 W power rating at 8 ohm)
Tops: 2x BMS 4554 (80 W power rating at 8 ohm)

One amp seems reasonable for the subs with 800 W or more per channel at 8 ohm.  Simple enough.  But how to power the remaining three ways is where I'm uncertain on the best configuration.  Would it be possible or advisable to power the remaining six drivers with one amp, say with a 2000 W at 8 ohm capacity, or would two additional amps (three amps total) be needed at a minimum?  

When you daisy-chain drivers, which seems needed short of 4 x 2-channel amps, how do you ensure the amp is sending the appropriate amount of power to each driver, or does this happen without any additional steps required?  In case it's important, I plan to run the system from a 4-way reggae preamp. No idea yet on cabinet designs.

There are other threads on with similar topics, although I'm not finding any to address my exact newbie questions.  Thank you in advance!  
monkeypuzzle View Drop Down
Young Croc
Young Croc

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote monkeypuzzle Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 06 June 2020 at 8:23am