Speakerplans.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > General > Newbie Discussion
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Bridge Query

Post Reply Post Reply Page  12>
Author

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote AJ113 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Bridge Query
    Posted: 27 September 2017 at 4:42pm
Where's the confounded bridge?

Only joking......

I have a Studiomaster AX3500, I use it in stereo, connecting each channel to an 8 ohm speaker, which gives me 710 watts per channel, i.e., each speaker draws 710 watts from the single channel to which it is connected.

According to the user manual, the amp will run bridged at 2900 watts into 4 ohms. So can I bridge the amp, link the two speakers in parallel, and connect one of them to the bridged amp channel in order to deliver 1450 watts to each speaker?
rosssss224 View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (1) Thanks(1)   Quote rosssss224 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 27 September 2017 at 5:02pm
Yep - exactly like that
AJ113 View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote AJ113 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 27 September 2017 at 9:24pm
Thank you very much.

Just to make sure that I get this right:

In bridge mode, I have to use a cable that is wired up differently, specifically Pin 1+ = +, Pin 2+ = -, instead of the usual Pin 1+ = +, Pin 1- = -, I have two questions:

1. Should the cable be wired the same at the speaker end too? i.e. Pin 1+ = +, Pin 2+ = - ?

2. The cable that I link the speakers with, should that be a 'normal' Pin 1+ = +, Pin 1- = - at both ends? Or should I use a diffrently wired 'bridge mode' cable to link them?

gen0me View Drop Down
Young Croc
Young Croc

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote gen0me Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 27 September 2017 at 9:33pm
No speaker box terminal doesnt change.