Speakerplans.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > General > Newbie Discussion
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Built-in speakers

Post Reply Post Reply
Author

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote christianfarrugia89 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Built-in speakers
    Posted: 03 September 2018 at 1:23pm
Hi,

I'm a complete newbie when it comes to sound, so here's my story -

I bought a place about 3 years ago and the previous owner had dug two 4x4 cubes into the living room walls (one on each side) as he was planning to install some wired speakers (the connections are there and everything) as part of his entertainment system.

Unfortunately it was the last thing on my mind at the time and I never asked him what exact speakers he was planning to get.

I either have to find something that fits those dimensions exactly or patch up the walls, and I'd honestly prefer the former to at least exploit the connections while I have them.

The places I went to locally (Malta) told me they're an older concept and more difficult to find, so i thought I'd come here to seek some more diverse advise on matter.

Thanks a lot in advance!

Chris
studio45 View Drop Down
Old Croc
Old Croc

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote studio45 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 03 September 2018 at 1:58pm
4x4 what? feet? metres? cubits? furlongs? LOL

It's rare to find a perfectly square speaker box, as that's not a good shape from an acoustic point of view. Sound waves will bounce around inside the box too much. You really want a rectangular box with different width, height and depth measurements. A curved or angled box is even better.