Speakerplans.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > General > Newbie Discussion
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

C Audio SRX3701 amp on a genny

Post Reply Post Reply Page  123>
Author

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote zigzagwanderer Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: C Audio SRX3701 amp on a genny
    Posted: 27 July 2021 at 3:25pm
Hi all
1st time poster although Ive been reading up lots on speaker plans the last few months.

After a couple of years messing about with some cheap behringer PA for small outdoor partys,
me and a pal want to get a bit more serious and have started slowly building a small sound to play reggae and I'm looking to buy an amp to power 2 x fane 18XB loaded super scoops.
Most of the time this will be running off a genny and so far we have been using a basic Honda 3kva genny with a couple of Behringer EP2500 amps with no problems.
Other than the above I have no knowledge or experience with PA related stuff , but as much as id like the practicality of light weight amps my gut feeling is older heavy weight amps as opposed to light weight switch mode amps will potentially fare better running on this genny.
Am I right thinking this ?
I'm looking at a C audio SRX3701 at the moment , anyone got opinions how this would cope on a basic non inverter Honda genny
This is a relatively cheap amp which is appealing at the moment as we still need to buy other drivers , more ply , more cables etc etc ,
but if its not going to be up to the job I'd rather spend a bit more or look for somthing else 

Ultimately i suspect we may need a bigger better genny but at the moment thats not really an option !

teeth View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote teeth Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 31 August 2021 at 8:47am
yeah, i'm also interested in this and just posted a thread myself.

we're asking the same Q i think: