Speakerplans.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Plans > X1
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Coax tops on the X1

Post Reply Post Reply
Author

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote volcano Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Coax tops on the X1
    Posted: 24 September 2004 at 5:04pm

Hello,

I'm planning to build a new setup, a sub with coax satelites on top. I'm going to use the X1 as the subs (I heard some good comments from it, here on the forum). As I have no experience at all with coax drivers I would love some advise.

I think they have to be 15 inch for the punch around 80 Hz (12 inch can be to weak)with a 2 inch driver to keep up with the dB's.... Is it a good idea to also put in a slot tweeter (I have loads of these).

The top boxes need to have very good sound and to be as little as possible. I rather pay some more for a good sound.

So any advise is very much welcome

Thanks

volcano View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote volcano Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 28 September 2004 at 3:41pm
No one a good adivce for a good sounding coax?????
loophole View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote loophole Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 28 September 2004 at 4:24pm
PAudio BM-15CX38 is powerful, uses a 2inch comp and looks like it would kick ok at 80. ive never heard one, but the plot looks pretty good........
JD01 View Drop Down
Young Croc
Young Croc

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote JD01 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 29 September 2004 at 2:09am

The general problem with coax speakers is the high crossover frequency between cone and HF driver. It will be ok with 10" and maybe with 12" and big HF driver on it, but most 15" coax have a 'too high' crossover frequency to make really good sound.

For what reason do you want a coax top?