Speakerplans.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > General > Newbie Discussion
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Complete newbie looking to build a small sound

Post Reply Post Reply Page  123>
Author

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote particle-jim Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Complete newbie looking to build a small sound
    Posted: 15 June 2017 at 5:48pm
Hi Folks, first time poster here

Me and a friend are looking to build a small soundsystem on a fairly modest budget for parties/dances that can still pack a punch in terms of low end, I've been browsing here and a few other places for a little while and I'm thinking of 2 or 3 18" scoops (either hogs or super scoopers probably) and something to handle the tops/mids, maybe 15" or 12" something or other. We're both absolute novices at this so any advice from some more experienced heads in terms of what amps and cabs we might need would be amazing. I mainly play "proper" dubstep (stuff like digital mystikz etc) as well as grime and roots/dubwise stuff and my friend is more geared towards dub and also a bit of dancehall so our rig would need to be able to handle that super low end but still be suitable for more organic sounds too, our shared interest in in dub/roots so we want a reggae style rig (pre-amps and all) but that can also handle the low-end pressure of dubstep etc. Apologies if I've asked an super obvious questions here, we're still in the very early stages of research and planning :)

Thanks in advance 

Edited by particle-jim - 15 June 2017 at 9:35pm
gen0me View Drop Down
Young Croc
Young Croc

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (1) Thanks(1)   Quote gen0me Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 15 June 2017 at 9:44pm
1-2 15" +2" tops for kick. For 15" ~130gbp each. Hf horns 65-105gbp each.

For 2 12" + 1.4. Mid basses 80-120gbp each. Hf horns 60gbp each.

So 2-3 scoops. Some more info?