Speakerplans.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > General > Newbie Discussion
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Sound System design 101

Post Reply Post Reply Page  12>
Author

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote s2rToe Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Sound System design 101
    Posted: 21 February 2018 at 3:50am
Hi. Complete newb here looking for advice. 

I'm looking to build a humble sound system as a mid-life project. Play it out a little bit if it works ... no sound clash ambitions. Mostly for reggae, ska, dub and some soul, funk.

I have been reading and watching stuff to learn terms etc and trawling through the threads here, which are brilliant, but out of my experience mostly.

This is a high level drawing of what I have planned. I'd love feedback on the schoolboy errors I'm making at this level ... (in reply below)

My first specific question then is regards to the tops. I have two bullet tweeters but I also was given an alter 806 A driver and an 811 horn. I think I have found that the driver is only 30W? http://www.yesterdays-tech.com/Altec/802D_806A.pdf. Is that usable in the system? I am guessing I need to power it off a different  amp than the bullet tweeters? ..

Looking forward to getting a steer in the right direction!! Many thanks.

Edited by s2rToe - 21 February 2018 at 4:02am
s2rToe View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote s2rToe Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 21 February 2018 at 3:53am

Edited by s2rToe - 21 February 2018 at 3:59am
Conanski View Drop Down
Old Croc
Old Croc

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Conanski Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 21 February 2018 at 5:12am
Originally posted by s2rToe s2rToe wrote: