Speakerplans.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > General > General Forum
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Speaker build update - any advice welcome

Post Reply Post Reply
Author
Message Reverse Sort Order
TheGiantHogweed View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote TheGiantHogweed Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Speaker build update - any advice welcome
    Posted: 16 April 2021 at 7:06pm
In my spare time, I built this speaker, and found many flaws with it initially, but have got it to sound pretty impressive given I've spent very little on it. It is my first build, so I would appreciate advice on the areas on how I could improve either on this speaker of if I build another some time.

I was going to put a fabric cover on this, but i'm now considering that i may re use some of the components of this to make a better one sometime.

Now the inside.

This is how I had it internally initially, and it did not sound good even when fully sealed:

Had no passive radiator on at this stage.

After a huge amount of experimenting, this is now what it looks like inside:

I've been using it several months like this, and although it clearly isn't as good as a solid hi-fi system, I'm really pleased with it given it is my first build and it is far better than a great deal of Bluetooth speakers / boom boxes at least regarding the quality of the sound at moderate / quiet listening levels.

Things that I have learned throughout building and testing this is how important the seal is if using a passive radiator. It wasn't very effective at all at first until I tried to seal it much better. It initially sounded very like it looked.... Boxy! The enclosure around the small drivers made a massive difference and then the passive radiator helped a lot too.