Speakerplans.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Plans > Ported Enclosures
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

G-Sub : RCF L 18P300 vs RCF LF18G400?

Post Reply Post Reply
Author

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote djjunglejym Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: G-Sub : RCF L 18P300 vs RCF LF18G400?
    Posted: 11 April 2009 at 10:16pm
Can anyone help me? I want to build the G Sub, but was going to use the RCF LF18G400 rather than the RCF L 18P300 due to the extended low frequency response of the RCF LF18G400 (25Hz, as opposed to 35Hz for the RCF L 18P300).

However, using WINISD to model the box and plot the frequency response, it looks like the RCF L 18P300 has a steeper response curver at lower frequencies than the RCF LF18G400!

How is this possible? It is my first time using WINISD, and I may be doing something wrong, so can anyone tell me if these response curves are accurate, and which is the best of these two drivers to use in the G Sub?

I am planning to use two G Subs in small performance spaces only, and accuracy and extended low frequency response are my primary concern, with high power handling capablity my secondary concern.

Many, many thanks!

DJ Jungle Jym
ceharden View Drop Down
The 10,000 Points Club
The 10,000 Points Club

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote ceharden Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 11 April 2009 at 10:59pm
The low frequency extension depends on the cabinet and the driver.  Just changing the driver for one with a lower resonance will not increase the extension unless you retune the cabinet to take advantage of it.

Can you post a picture of the plots so we're clear what you're referring to please.

mobiele eenheid View Drop Down
Old Croc
Old Croc

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote mobiele eenheid Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 14 April 2009 at 8:17pm