Speakerplans.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > General > General Forum
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

which (5K) amp to buy

Post Reply Post Reply Page  123 14>
Author

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Tommes Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: which (5K) amp to buy
    Posted: 02 June 2012 at 5:57am
Hi everyone,

Been following topics for several years on speakerplans and finally decided to register myself and post a small topic.

I've been using several of QSC's MX3000a for almost 15 years now and never had one failing on me.
Pretty good i think Smile

15 years using the same amps, but now i simply want to buy some new stuff.

The MX3000a has been used on 8, 4 and 2 ohms, and although it is not that powerfull (according to todays standards), it still packs one hell of a punch.

So the new amp(s) will have to be damn good to beat the QSC experience.

The amps i'm thinking about are:
QSC RMX 5050
Crest CA18
Crest 9001
AA V6001

Let's start with the RMX5050.
I've never worked with it, but i'm thinking about that one because i'm a hughe fan of QSC and this is the best they have to offer at the moment (and please don't start about PL3 Smile).
I've not read anything negative on the web about this amp, but also didn't find that much of really positive notes.
From a schematic perspective, the RMX seems almost the same as the MX series.
So it can't be bad, can it?
But why is it so damn cheap? Chinese manufacturing?

QSC sells this amp as a 5K amp, but looking more closely to the specs, you see that it only delivers this power at 1Khz with 1%THD.
Compared to the Crest CA18, that's less power.
I've heard these Crests on several occasions and they always sounded like music to my ears.
Is it the higher damping that does it?
I know that when you take the cables into account, the damping of the amp doesn't make that much of a difference, but still...