Speakerplans.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > General > Amp Forum
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Cheap or expensive? Repair of Crown XLS 802

Post Reply Post Reply
Author
Old Croc
Old Croc

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Requiem Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Cheap or expensive? Repair of Crown XLS 802
    Posted: 16 May 2013 at 12:32am
Got a problem with a Crown XLS 802, was wondering is anyone had an idea of what could be wrong, if theres an easy fix i could try myself (bearing in mind im not an electrician ) or what it might cost.

It wasn't powering on at all so i took it apart myself hoping it might be in internal fuse, then found a burn mark on the roof of the amp and this melted corner on its counterpart on the amp internals.

Anyone got any idea?

www.requiem-soundsystem.com

Custom Martin Audio WSX, USB & CSG Soundsystem based in Bristol
Tan-2 View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Tan-2 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 16 May 2013 at 3:30pm
Originally posted by Requiem Requiem wrote:

Got a problem with a Crown XLS 802, was wondering is anyone had an idea of what could be wrong, if theres an easy fix i could try myself (bearing in mind im not an electrician ) or what it might cost.

It wasn't powering on at all so i took it apart myself hoping it might be in internal fuse, then found a burn mark on the roof of the amp and this melted corner on its counterpart on the amp internals.

Anyone got any idea?

leave it to a tech guy to carry out repair work....as you could make things worse if unsure on what to do...
Get some quotes before taking it a long for repair... 
Logic will get you from A to B. Imagination will take you everywhere.
mk2_ginger_biscuit69 View Drop Down
Old Croc
Old Croc