Speakerplans.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > General > Newbie Discussion
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

First Speaker Build - Need help

Post Reply Post Reply
Author

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote damianmitchell Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: First Speaker Build - Need help
    Posted: 15 October 2018 at 5:50am
Hi Guys,

I'm new to speaker building and have been educating myself via youtube and other resources.  I want to build a small Bluetooth speaker for my wife and I am trying to design the enclosure using winisd.  I have picked the speakers and want to go with a passive radiator but I am confused with the results I am getting in winisd.

I understand that a passive radiator needs to be about double the size of the speakers and I am sure I have picked the right one but I am still confused with the results coming from winsid.

So....The following is my speaker I am wanting to build:

Speakers: 

PS95-8 3-1/2" Point Source Full-Range Driver x 2

Passive Raditor:

DS175-PR 6-1/2" Designer Series Passive Radiator x 1

Enclosure Volume:
Around 7 Litres or .247 Ft^3

The tuning frequency calculates at 54.09Hz but my F3 comes in at 101.9.  What is going here?????

I have saved the project in winsid so if anyone needs the file I can send it to them.  Please help me out here as I am getting frustrated and just want to build a simple and nice sounding speaker.

Thanks
Damian
Shortrope View Drop Down
Young Croc
Young Croc

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Shortrope Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 15 October 2018 at 8:47am
I'd say it's because the useable frequency range of that driver starts at 110hz.
My Tinnitus is coming along nicely!!
damianmitchell View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote damianmitchell Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 15 October 2018 at 8:59am