Speakerplans.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > General > Newbie Discussion
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

2*15" short throw folded horn [new to this]

Post Reply Post Reply
Author

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote tha-there-klaus Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: 2*15" short throw folded horn [new to this]
    Posted: 30 July 2019 at 3:31am
Hi there, I'm new to this so feel free to call me a pillock when I say something stupid.

Watching and reading lots [lots of woo, bollocks, to dismiss but that's research]
I've picked up a mish-mash of ebay bargains [all bass reflex, nothing too shite, wharfedale fane & peavey] over the years. And occasional hire outs they've paid for themselves.

One of my ebay steals was 4 full range cabs designed to the ' 3 way reflex ' design [pg 18 fane speaker handbook] loaded with
1 * Fane Classic kc 15" 300w
1* Fane Classic kc 10" 150w [odd fane don't list 150w only 100 or 200]
1* Fane HF250 (bullet 250w(peak)

And for 34 quid per cab I think I did alright. The cabs are a really flat response, [which has it's merits]
but the bass isn't great south of 100Hz [other subs and dbx pa sort that out]

So anywho,
I'm in the mood for a bit of wood butchery. I've my eye on the ' 2*15" short throw folded horn ' as found pg 36 in the fane book, the wish is let the 15"s use more power for 90-500Hz region, the 10"s and bullets I'm not sure yet. [maybe a lower power full range 4th order for solo use and seal the port for full rig use]

Will using 300w drivers be ok for this design? [they're not going to tear or anything?]
It's a pretty old design has it been improved upon? [I'm sort of thinking porting the sealed section to have a band pass from the pull part of the cycle] [I'm really interested in the efficiency of 6th order stuff]