Speakerplans.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > General > 12v Powered Systems
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - Building custom (Half) Boominator (first project)
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Building custom (Half) Boominator (first project)

Post Reply Post Reply
Author

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote thevox Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Building custom (Half) Boominator (first project)
    Posted: 12 July 2020 at 2:46pm
Hi Smile
I'm planning to build a custom battery powered boominator-like speaker made for the outdoors. While I I understand a bit about speakers, audio and electronics I'm completely new to this. I would really appreciate some feedback :)

I have based my plans of other peoples plans of the boominator and read a lot of Saturnus's posts. Here are the plans (some questions inside there):

Plans:

Box

Plywood Box (10+ mm, 7+ layer) 

54x30x40 or bigger (64.8 L- 80 L) I might make it slightly larger if needed but

Screws

Sandpaper

Soundproofing (stuffing, waterproof-ish) inside box

Vent tube (bass reflex) - 2x (Diameter: 53mm x 10-54 mm) // Bass Reflex 2x Handles 60x100mm len: 20mm

I've tried using some software (Basta!) to make better decisions :)

But I'm kinda stuck on how to tune(?) calculate optimal port size/length. I want to focus on the 80-100 hz range.

Waterproof box inside for electronics (thinking of some kind of lunchbox with some screws)

Metal Woofer Grill 10”-12” (2x)

Speaker Drivers

Woofers (2x): P.audio HP-10W

96 dB/w, 10”

Max. 100W, 8 Ω

50-4000 hz (90-3000hz crossover)

Tweeters (2x): Monacor MPT-005 (?)

94 dB/w, 85x85mm

Max. 115W, 4-8 Ω

4000-20000hz (3500hz crossover)

Resistor/Capacitor protection and high pass

Resonance fix (fill up grooves with sealant acrylic?)

Electronics

Amplifier (min. 30W 4-8 Ohm, 90%+ efficiency, class T/D)

Alternatives: Lepai 2020/2024A

TDA7498 based

TA2020 based