Speakerplans.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Plans > Ported Enclosures
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

10" 6th order bandpass kick cab

Post Reply Post Reply
Author

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote cinghiale Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: 10" 6th order bandpass kick cab
    Posted: 06 August 2020 at 1:12pm
Hello ported masters!

I'm trying to build a kick cab for our small cargobike soundsystem! it's my first time designing a cabinet so i have plenty of doubts and would like some feedback on the project before actually going to get the wood.

For now we have a Cubo 15 as sub and a small but very loud top. Since it's all supposed to go on a bike weight and size are best kept small.

i thought about a 6th order bandpass, trying to get the 2 chambers tuned at 100 and 250hz which is the target frequency range of the cab. bouncing back and forth between cad and hornresp i ended up on this (measures in mm):

made it 62cm wide so it would fit perfectly on top of the sub, angled the speaker baffle to save a few cm in height (so the bike driver can see the road!). the driver is an eminence delta 10a.
Simulating it on hornresp gives this result:

The frequency response looks perfect for what we're looking for but maybe there are some beginner mistakes i'm overlooking?

1. Do we risk having a speaker that just honks at those two resonant frequencies and makes everything sound the same? (don't want to one note sub kinda vibes)
  2. what about port size? to tune it so high i had to make massive ports, they ended up being onlt 15mm long which is the plywood thickness, surely this will help with construction but does that even behave like a port at that lenght?
  3. i read that ports should always be at one port lenght distance from the external walls of the cab, is that true or is it something we can get away with by making the ports a bit bigger? i really like how these 2 square holes look.