Speakerplans.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > General > Newbie Discussion
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Listening party system

Post Reply Post Reply
Author

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Midwife Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Listening party system
    Posted: 28 September 2020 at 4:16pm
Hi there,

I've been asked to build a small system for an album listening party, nothing too big, it should fill a small room with around 30-50 people. The music will mainly be bass heavy left field and grime.

Not really sure where to start on this, I can put the cabs together fine as I'm a chippy by trade, but I don't know what speakers to select and start building!

Any advice would be very much appreciated.

S
studio45 View Drop Down
Old Croc
Old Croc

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote studio45 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 28 September 2020 at 5:26pm
Hehe. What's your budget? Given the application I could suggest all sorts of fancy things, but if you've only got 50p and a Curly-Wurly it'll just put you off LOL
Studio45 - Repairs & Building Commotion Soundsystem -Mobile PA
Earplug View Drop Down
Old Croc
Old Croc

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Earplug Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 28 September 2020 at 5:32pm
Too much bass will cause the needle to bounce!  LOL

Maybe start by reading a bit in the Newbie section - or take a look at some commercial systems. Something like 2 x 10"/12" satellites and a 15" bass bin. Bass reflex to keep it simple.   Smile

Earplugs Are For Wimps!
Digbethdave View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Digbethdave Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 28 September 2020 at 9:12pm
A pair of decent hifi speakers will do the job. But as you say 30-50, I assume you are not in the uk.

FOO View Drop Down
Young Croc