Speakerplans.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > General > Electro Frying Forum
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

DIY Crossover Help

Post Reply Post Reply
Author

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Daganjah Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: DIY Crossover Help
    Posted: 23 May 2021 at 8:32pm
Hi everybody 
im sorry for my bad english

i don't know if its the right place to ask but...

im new in the crossover world and i want to know if I can use the knowledge you have.
I want to build a crossover board but I do not know how to calculate the data to my board.
I want to build a 2-way crossover board for my tops.
i use b&c 12fw76 for the woofers
and the peavey 44xt 
i want to cross the frequencies at 700hz 
hope to get some help from you guys
thank you 
Conanski View Drop Down
Old Croc
Old Croc

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Conanski Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 23 May 2021 at 10:52pm
You can build a basic passive crossover for those drivers.. but you're not going to like the results. What I suggest you do is biamp them and process it with DSP.
To make these drivers sound good they will need parametric EQ, time alignment, level matching, and CD horn correction... assuming the 44xt will be mounted on a CD horn. Some of this can be accomplished with passive components but just zeroing in the optimum component values is a laborous process. 
Earplug View Drop Down
Old Croc
Old Croc

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Earplug Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 24 May 2021 at 6:45am
There are several online calculators that will give you a basic circuit, eg:-

But that will be very basic - and as mentioned above, will be far from perfect. Also, 700Hz sounds very low a xover point. Why so low? The B&C will happily go much higher. 1500Hz-2000Hz would be far more sensible.