Speakerplans.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > General > 12v Powered Systems
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

5-6KW rig battery power

Post Reply Post Reply
Author
Old Croc
Old Croc

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote MarjanM Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: 5-6KW rig battery power
    Posted: 23 July 2021 at 5:42pm
So, i am not really an expert in battery powered rigs so i will just tell you what i need and you tell me what would be the best solution.

I have a request to bring a rig (2x21 inch subs, 6 2x6 line arrays and two 12 inch coax monitors) at a location where it is a real pain in the ass to use generators because it is quite a narrow path of about 600-700m where a genny will have to be carried by hand. We did one gig and we would really like to avoid doing that once more. Generator was also quite noisy because the place is extremely quiet once the dark falls and the music material is classical music performed from a platform in the middle of a small lake. Audience is in small boats floating around the platform. So, bringing electricity to the platform was also a challenge with the genny on the shore away enough not to annoy the audience.
So, an obvious solution is a battery pack that can power such a rig for 4-5 hours.
The rig is playing at like 50% capacity, and there is not really much of a bass content that will drain the batteries fast.

What solution you think is possible here? Ready one or a DIY one. We can build pretty much anything but we need to know what we need to do. 
First of all i have no idea how much battery capacity i need in batteries, what sort of batteries, what sort of inverter... 

Spill your ideas here :) 
Marjan Milosevic
MM-Acoustics
www.mm-acoustics.com
https://www.facebook.com/pages/MM-Acoustics/608901282527713
carlosdelondres View Drop Down