Speakerplans.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > General > Newbie Discussion
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

2 x 12" sealed cabs and Qtc

Post Reply Post Reply
Author

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote zigzagwanderer Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: 2 x 12" sealed cabs and Qtc
    Posted: 04 November 2021 at 11:50pm
Hi , This is my first time putting a system together and building speakers etc so if there are any glaring errors feel free to point them out 

In the next couple of weeks I plan to build a 2 x 12" sealed mid cab loaded with Fane 12mb's and at the moment intending to cross it at around 200hz and 1100 hz 
This is to go above 2 scoops and a 2 x 15" reflex cab.
For practical reasons like stacking I need the cabinet to have a volume of around 60 litres 
According to WinISD this would have a Qtc of 0.506 
But I could put a false back in the cab to reduce the volume and raise the Qtc to maybe around 6 - 6.5
Ive spent hours reading about Qtc and sealed cabs and am not getting anywhere.
With WinISD the spl , cone excursion etc all seem fine either way but with my lack of practical experience I dont know what difference it will make to the actual sound at the above frequencies and if i should be trying to raise the Qtc 
Will it make a noticable difference to the sound and if so in simple terms can you explain what ?
Music wise the final system will be playing old and new roots reggae  

Edited by zigzagwanderer - 04 November 2021 at 11:55pm
Keen View Drop Down
Young Croc
Young Croc

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Keen Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 09 November 2021 at 6:48am
should be easier on the ear if you raise the QTC.

Build both, compare. Let us know

toastyghost View Drop Down
The 10,000 Points Club
The 10,000 Points Club