Speakerplans.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Plans > X1
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

C18-600LF

Post Reply Post Reply
Author

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote rastaman Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: C18-600LF
    Posted: 11 June 2005 at 7:17pm
This is where I demonstrate my newness to this all.

I'm in the US, and looking at the price of the Challenger 18" which is about $180 as oppose to the SD18 which is like $350, I wondered what would be the difference in response between the two.

The Challenger has a slightly higher resonant frequency 39Hz to 33.2Hz and a lower Vas 220l to 264l and a much higher Qts of .35 to the SD's .26 and a lower BL (24.5 to 35.8)

Being a total novice, I plugged all this stuff into WinISD and stood well back. The X1 looks to me to be some kind of 6th order bandpass, with a chamber in front of the driver, and another behind it, but I'm probably way over-simplifying, and the two drivers produced very similar results, with the Challenger producing a slightly steeper incline on the frequency response, and so it looked as if it might be slightly lower at the 3db point.

So I'm obviously missing something really big here, else everyone would be throwing the cheaper driver in, and it doesn't make much sense to me, higher fs and Qts giving better results. I got even better results in a closed and vented box, so I'm really messing something up here, what is it? I know there is magic in the Qts around the .28 mark, but isn't that to do with horns, and not vented/ported enclosures, what is the X1?