Speakerplans.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Plans > Punisher and X-tro
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

X-tro Question

Post Reply Post Reply
Author

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote AndrAAx Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: X-tro Question
    Posted: 31 December 2008 at 10:21am
Been looking at the drawings for these ones, and found a think that felt abit strange!

In the pictures theres a big chamber in the horn part between the upper and lower 15" driver!

The question!
Why isnt this room used as box volume for the rear chamber?
The lower chamber i can understand , it isnt that much room!

Im not good at horn designs, but mabey you can get it to go a bit lower? Or? Confused
It’s hard to make a thing idiot-proof! Because idiots are so bloody genius!
tb_mike View Drop Down
Old Croc
Old Croc

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote tb_mike Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 02 January 2009 at 12:30am
My guess is that if it wasnt used,the driver doesnt require a chamber that large. The rear chamber is an air cushion which makes the biggest difference below cutoff,reducing excursion greatly.
The front chamber,and horn path length determines cutoff.
darkmatter View Drop Down
Old Croc
Old Croc

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote darkmatter Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 02 January 2009 at 2:36pm
In the xtro the 15" drivers fire parallel and are about the same distance from the horn mouth. I can't think of an alternative folding that would maintain this quality and still make use of the unused space you're referring to, I guess this might be part of the reason.
AndrAAx View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote AndrAAx Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 02 January 2009 at 10:30pm