Speakerplans.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Other Chat > Computer Talk
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

workstation help and advice

Post Reply Post Reply
Author
Old Croc
Old Croc

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Sheggy Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: workstation help and advice
    Posted: 25 June 2009 at 2:25pm
Lenovo D10 workstations - would they be a good platform to put together a good graphics machine? I have no experience of the brand and I'm quite lost really. I'm looking at the one with Quad-Core Xeon E5440 2.83GHz / 8GB RAM / 146GB SAS HDD / with XP Pro DG

It's to do 3D rendering and 3D movies (4D) as well as serious image analysis for medical and scientific apps. I'll fit it with lots of RAM and a good graphics card.

S

Edited by Sheggy - 25 June 2009 at 2:30pm
nickyburnell View Drop Down
Old Croc
Old Croc

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote nickyburnell Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 25 June 2009 at 4:19pm
Lenovo was IBM, solid kit, slow customer service.
What graphics card?
Don't forget you'll need 64bit Windows to see all that ram.
It's everything, not everythink!
Sheggy View Drop Down
Old Croc
Old Croc

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Sheggy Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 25 June 2009 at 7:23pm
Thanks - that explains why the case looks similar to an old IBM workstation that I saw today.

I'm looking at the mid range PNY cards something like the PNY Quadro FX1800 (768MB) - I need a fast card which supports Open GL and that's all I know.

Bit of a f*cker re the 64 bit Windows - I suspected as much. I don't have the money to upgrade the software (which costs nearly 10 times the cost of the PC) to run on Vista, but 64 bit processing is exactly what I need + the RAM.

S
Old Croc
Old Croc