Speakerplans.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Plans > X10, X12, X15 and XM15
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

X12 spec drivers: UK alternative needed please

Post Reply Post Reply
Author

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote tendril Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: X12 spec drivers: UK alternative needed please
    Posted: 28 August 2009 at 1:17pm

P Audio x12 spec drivers discontinued. As a novice I wouldn't know what to replace them with. The cabinets have been built to spec and I don't want to bugger about retuning them, so your recommendations for a UK build alternative please.

(I realise that there are many threads about this already but from various builders in various countries. This thread is Uk specific.)

ta muchly.

Edited by tendril - 28 August 2009 at 1:26pm
Tendril

A mistake is a mistake only if one learns nothing from it.
ceharden View Drop Down
The 10,000 Points Club
The 10,000 Points Club

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote ceharden Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 28 August 2009 at 2:19pm
There are lots of options of drivers available in the UK.

From PD there is the PD123ER if you want heavy (available from Bluearan) or 12MH25 if you want lightweight.

From B&C you could use the 12PLB76 or 12NDL76 or 12HPL76

There are Beyma options but I'm not as familiar with their drivers.

Tony Wilkes View Drop Down
Old Croc
Old Croc

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Tony Wilkes Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 29 August 2009 at 8:43am
I have said many times the original and only X12's were equiped with budget drivers. To get comparable performance there is no need to look beyond the Celestion TN1225's.