Speakerplans.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Plans > New Projects Forum
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

10" Front loaded sub design THE RADIHORN

Post Reply Post Reply
Author

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote drbis84 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: 10" Front loaded sub design THE RADIHORN
    Posted: 07 March 2012 at 10:32pm
Hello everyone,
I am a newbie with a project in mind, but I'm full of doubts and I need your expert opinion to see if it can work.
I have two 10" car subs (AUDIO SYSTEM - RADION 10 PLUS) and I found a plan of an old 10" back-loaded horn that I have slightly changed by reversing the cone and adding a closed rear chamber.

The result is the following:

I tryed to model it with hornresp with the following results:

I also imported it in Akabak to simulate subsonic filter and low pass filter.
High pass 35Hz 24db - Low pass 85Hz 24db

The music I like is reggae roots and dub and I want to use it both outdoor and indoor.
I know it is ONLY a 10" so I don't expect to destroy buildings with two of these horns.
Just some good bass (at least louder than a 60L with Fb 35Hz).

My first and greatest doubt is about group delay peaks at 40Hz and ~100Hz. Mainly the ~100Hz one!
The only horn I've heard is PD1850 SUPER SCOOPER which for my ears is fast enough when playing dub music.
I know that 10" is not 18" but what I want to understand is if group delay is so bad.
I found this simulation with hornresp and you can see that group delay is quite similar (PD1850 black - RADION10PLUS grey).

I can also add a delay of ~8/10ms on the mid-highs so that group delay between 60-80Hz can be considered as near 0ms.

Second doubt is about cone displacement.
If xmax is 8mm can I consider 10-12mm to be the xmech?
What happens in sealed rear chamber with displacement greater than xmax? Will the sub get too "hot"?
Is a rear vented chamber tuned to about 30Hz a good idea?