Speakerplans.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > General > Amp Forum
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

JBL EON 515

Post Reply Post Reply Page  <12
Author

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote bruce@bluff Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 14 April 2016 at 8:08am
No our power is not fine I am a qualified electrician and work full time for the municipality neutral bars are constantly being stolen from the substations causing voltage to go up to almost 400volts between live and earth this destroys a smpsu in no time. A lot of people in the sound and pa companies ask what they can do. I recommend they carry around the checker plug with the 3 neon lights which will show you if a earth is missing as surge protectors are essentially useless. Secondly power factor is also problem power theft causes phases to become unevenly loaded casing serious inbalances as power thieves use the earth as a return and not the neutral. South Africa uses a TNS system which makes use of neutral to return back to the transformer at the substation and the earth as a protective earth not a return. When I contacted Wild and Marr to get a price for the module they told me they had 16 in stock either they anticipated there is problems with power here or they knew there was a problem the that particular module     
Earplug View Drop Down
Old Croc
Old Croc

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Earplug Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 14 April 2016 at 12:28pm
" they had 16 in stock either they anticipated there is problems with power here or they knew there was a problem the that particular module"