Speakerplans.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > General > Newbie Discussion
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

3d Printed speakers

Post Reply Post Reply
Author

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote willthmas Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: 3d Printed speakers
    Posted: 23 August 2017 at 11:39pm
I am a complete newbie to this but was wanting to design and 3d print my own speakers. I am comfortable with Cad but don't know where to start with electronics and cab design where is the best place to start reading? I'm presuming it is quite a lot of theory to learn. In the mean time does anyone know where I can get designs for some cool mini rigs I can print, build volume of my printer is 21x21x21cm this can be separate parts that could be glued or full cabs. Thanks!
Hemisphere View Drop Down
Old Croc
Old Croc

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Hemisphere Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 23 August 2017 at 11:57pm
Join the club! I've got several 3D printed speaker designs on the go right now, (well, that's unnecessarily grandiose - I've got a bunch of half  finished sketches and renderings on the go right now) - I have an increasingly solid idea about enclosure design but my CAD skills leave much to be desired.

A friend of mine had access to an enormous 3D printer through work earlier this year - the Wasp 3MT with a 100cm round printing bed(!) 

He tried to print a stupidly overly ambititous design, 1 metre tall, in the vein of the 'Snowmen' 3D printed speaker set by Dutch designer, Kirk Van der Kooij:

The printer wasn't having any of it so he settled with a much smaller and simpler design using a Seas DIY speaker kit. It looked pretty neat last I saw, kind of simple but minimalist, egg pods style.