Speakerplans.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Plans > New Projects Forum
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Help designing a Synergy horn please

Post Reply Post Reply Page  123>
Author

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Abe The Babe Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Help designing a Synergy horn please
    Posted: 23 January 2013 at 1:47am
I'm looking to build a pair of 60 degree by 60 degree synergy horns something like the sh60 for live sound gigs, they will always be used with subs so they don't need the same low freq extension but I would like them to have a similar output and they need to sound good for vocals and acoustic instruments along with rock bands. 
I'm still a beginner on designing speakers, so if I could get a bit of advise (or a lot of advise) I'd be very grateful. I've started reading up on synergy horn builds over the last while and I've been reading a few books on speaker designing but I still have a lot to learn especially seeing as I keep reading people saying that synergy horns require a lot of complicated maths etc. What exactly do I need to know in order to build a good synergy horn? Is there any recommended reading? I have a cabinet maker who is willing to do a lot of the work for free and let me use his tools for the rest, which is lucky.

MarjanM View Drop Down
Old Croc
Old Croc

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote MarjanM Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 23 January 2013 at 2:22pm
I hope that you are aware that the unity horns dont actually have more output then some reflex designs.
Marjan Milosevic
MM-Acoustics
www.mm-acoustics.com
https://www.facebook.com/pages/MM-Acoustics/608901282527713
Abe The Babe View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Abe The Babe Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 23 January 2013 at 3:29pm
Originally posted by MarjanM MarjanM wrote: