Speakerplans.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > General > General Forum
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Help with in-ceiling speaker system design

Post Reply Post Reply
Author

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote pasto Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Help with in-ceiling speaker system design
    Posted: 19 March 2020 at 4:10am
Hi, 

I am new to this type of work. I know the basics but I am unsure on some things. 

I want to design a speaker system than with in ceiling speakers. '

Here are some details:
- The room is 12 feet X 12 feet
- I will be using the speakers primarily for playing around with DJ and beat production software
- I enjoy bass but not too much where you can't hear vocals

Questions/doubts:
- Do I need to buy speakers that are labeled "in-ceiling"?
- Could I use car speakers / woofers ? (they are considerably less expensive) 
- How many speakers will be enough? Dimensions? 
- Do I need a sub (should it also be in-ceiling or on the floor)? 

I hope some of you can help me with this - thanks!

odc04r View Drop Down
Old Croc
Old Croc

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote odc04r Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 19 March 2020 at 9:07am
You aren't going to get significant bass from in ceiling speakers so I wouldn't worry too much there.

My biggest #1 consideration would be first to check your local building codes to make sure the ceiling of the room isn't designed to be fire rated for a period of time, and that cutting holes and putting non fire rated kit in there might compromise it.