Speakerplans.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > General > Newbie Discussion
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

How much power does my sound system need?

Post Reply Post Reply
Author

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Maze Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: How much power does my sound system need?
    Posted: 07 January 2020 at 9:26am
Hi, probably a stupid question, but I tried google and didn't come up with anything.

I'm bringing my sound system to a festival and they are asking me how much power I need.

How do I know how much power I need for the sound?

I'll either bring my current system which is 4xdouble 18" and 4x15"tops... or

6x18"scoops 4x15"Kicks and 4xtops.

Most likely powered by 3xCVR amps.

I'm a bit lost here. Still a total noob.
FOO View Drop Down
Young Croc
Young Croc

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote FOO Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 07 January 2020 at 9:37am
First of All, we dont know anything about your system. Only how many boxes and what driver sizes you use.

You need to add more information..
What drivers you use? What amplifiers you are using?
How many people Will you be covering?
How big a area do you need to cover?

If only 200 pp is attending the festival, and you bring gear for 1000 pp, you dont need full power.. logically.

More information yields a more precise answer :)
imageoven View Drop Down
Old Croc
Old Croc

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote imageoven Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 07 January 2020 at 11:16am
I would add up the maximum current draw on all the equipment you intend to take (from manufacturers specification) add 10% then round up to the nearest supply size.

In the UK we use 16A, 32A, 63A, 125A supplys.

Keep pushing on, things are gonna get better.
JonB67 View Drop Down
Young Croc
Young Croc