Speakerplans.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > General > Feedback Forum
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Jus melted my subs need advice please!

Post Reply Post Reply
Author

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote lorenzo14 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Jus melted my subs need advice please!
    Posted: 03 January 2009 at 2:48pm
Hi to everyone i've been following this forum for general advice for a while but now i need some opinions please. i'm pretty new to the running my own soundsystem game but have had a lot of sound experience...

In a 3 way system i was running...

2 x Jamo 6000's 15' cabinets (reflex i think? one driver on top of each other facing front no scoop)
2 x Peavey Impulse Active Cabs

and at first piezo's but then some jamo horns cut off my old hi fi system D350's

though basic and thrown to together from whatever i had it's been holding it up with a crispy sound. but recently i used 2 x Amcron 1201  mono bridge to each sub which i think has melted the coil, i know this was a stupid way to learn as it's gonna be expensive

but can i replace this coil or do i have to get completley new drivers??
if so any ideas about better suited drivers as i like my bass DUB  heavy.

am no longer using the amps as i gave them back so any solutions to my whole bass refurb i.e new amps (amp) and drivers that match my cabinets please got about £500 - £1000 for whole lot.
awaitng your expert opinions peopleWink

norty303 View Drop Down
Old Croc
Old Croc

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote norty303 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 03 January 2009 at 2:55pm
You can recone drivers by changing the whole of the moving part of the structure.

I think your biggest problem will be getting recone kits for your speakers.  Perhaps use this as an opportunity to upgrade to something a bit more standard for PA use?
My laser stuff: Frikkin Lasers