Speakerplans.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > General > Newbie Discussion
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Lack of sizzle in midtops

Post Reply Post Reply Page  12>
Author

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote r.G Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Lack of sizzle in midtops
    Posted: 06 June 2017 at 9:47pm
Greetings, 

I've been running a small soundsystem for a few months now and this forum has helped greatly with advice and information. 

Now I'm not quite happy with the sound of my mids and tops. What I'm missing is the presence of that typical clave sound, in lack of better words, I'll call it sharpness. The sizzle in your ear, like someones poking your eardrum, but without any pain. Overall, I think my midtop section sounds pretty clear, but I lack the roughness and character of real reggae sound. Now, I don't know in which frequency area that is. My setup are two supers with 18 XB in it, a HD215 with Kappas and I'm kinda happy with the performance and sound of those. Mids are a 2x12" sealed, angled mids. I think it is a Celestion design, but not too sure. They're loaded with Fane Sorvereign 12-300. My top section consists of a BMS 4554 1,4" CD on the B&C ME90 horn. 

Now my question is, is the lack of sharpness down to the components itself, the cab design or can it be fixed with some EQing? 

Any advice welcome!

rg
gen0me View Drop Down
Young Croc
Young Croc

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote gen0me Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 06 June 2017 at 9:57pm
First take eq and check what frequency that is
r.G View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote r.G Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 06 June 2017 at 10:09pm
I did try running a basic clave/woodblock sample through a frequency analyzer and boosted the affected area a bit, but that didn't do the trick.
gen0me View Drop Down
Young Croc