Speakerplans.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > General > Advanced Discussion
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Martin W b215 bin

Post Reply Post Reply
Author

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Ganjaman Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Martin W b215 bin
    Posted: 25 October 2022 at 1:17am
Hello all newbie here just got four Martin W
B215 bins no drivers what is a good driver to use in them and also what type of power be cool if someone can help out ganjaman
jbl_man View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote jbl_man Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 25 October 2022 at 9:17am
A Precision Devices PD1550 would work well, but not sure if you have those available in Canada?
Be seeing you.
Conanski View Drop Down
Old Croc
Old Croc

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Conanski Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 26 October 2022 at 12:17am
Always liked those Martin boxes.

The 215 MK1 box used Martin B38 or TAD TL-1601 driver and other options included the JBL E140 and Gauss 4583A.

The 215 MK3 box used the Martin L1540 which allows 2-4dB more output from the box from higher power handling... apparently.

This info is from the datasheets on the Martin website, you have to dig through legacy products archives to find them.
madboffin View Drop Down
Old Croc
Old Croc

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote madboffin Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 27 October 2022 at 12:50am
In the 1970s, buyers could choose from a range of drivers. The Gauss drivers were probably the most popular during that period. I don't think anyone actually ordered speakers with the TL-1601 option - they were very expensive drivers in the UK.

The B38 was a badged RCF L15P06C, and was the standard driver up until September 1983.