Speakerplans.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > General > Newbie Discussion
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

measuring my SS - beginner

Post Reply Post Reply
Author

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote 1ManSoundsystem Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: measuring my SS - beginner
    Posted: 04 August 2022 at 4:01am
schiff ahoi

i got a 4way SS (4 hogs, 8 hd15, 4 mt122 with 2 ultradrives some crown and qsc-amps)
and would like to begin with measurements.
since im a cabinet builder and have no clue about measurements and the whatabouts, i hope to
find some beginners advice here.

since english is not my first language, it might sound a little weird cuz lack of technical terms haha.

i want to use my laptop to visualize the frequency-spectrum of my SS. when playing music, i always used my ears to adjust volume-levels of all 4 ways. took some time, not pretty accurate.
had fun anyway. against room-interference (crazy loud humming in one place in a room)
i was always helpless (poor dj had the exact spot of insane drone, weird coincidence, haha)

so, when completely setting up the SS, als crossovers running, all amps powered up,
music is playing, i want to see witch frequency/speaker is louder/quieter than the others so i can adjust manualy with the equalizer. for setting up delay i used basic calculations and the ultradrive.

so anyone of you pros might suggest some beginners tips for someone not sure about what hes doing. money is not an issue, i can buy a good mic and REW software f.e. but i dont know what to do with it :/   what would you recommend, what i should do as basic adjustments/setup for a freshly setup SS in a new location f.e. nothing too fancy just the basic measurements u find necessary.

advanced stuff i could work out for myself, but id be glad for beginners help. greetings

Conanski View Drop Down
Old Croc
Old Croc