Speakerplans.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > General > Newbie Discussion
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - Old Fisher XP56S - Worth replacing the drivers?
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Old Fisher XP56S - Worth replacing the drivers?

Post Reply Post Reply
Author

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote daniel-loves-friday Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Old Fisher XP56S - Worth replacing the drivers?
    Posted: 08 June 2020 at 11:10pm
Hi all,

I've inherited a set of beautiful albeit very old, and not-too-amazing-sounding 2-way Fisher XP56S Speakers.

I'm considering replacing both drivers, in order to keep the beautiful enclosure, but improve the sound as much as possible - especially the bass.

I'd love to be able to reach as low as ~35Hz...

I'm a total newbie, so would have to learn a lot - especially daunted by the crossovers for the new drivers.

Do you think it's worth doing this?

Will I be able to reach my goal (without spending crazy amounts)?

Many Thanks!
Digbethdave View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Digbethdave Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 08 June 2020 at 11:27pm
It's slightly middle of the road 'sears' home speakers from the 70/80s, might just be best using them in the shed/garage for listening to the radio.

Bams View Drop Down
Young Croc
Young Croc

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Bams Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 08 June 2020 at 11:36pm
If you like the look of this speakers but want more low end you starting with this cabinet is a not too good idea. it isn't well build and made of loose wood which will fall apart if used in anger.

but... building a simple two way enclosure is an easy task and very rewarding, especially designing your own crossovers is a fun thing to do with all these calculators which can be found online.