Speakerplans.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > General > Newbie Discussion
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Old Speakers Dying?

Post Reply Post Reply
Author

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Speaker_Nub Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Old Speakers Dying?
    Posted: 30 March 2018 at 9:50pm
Firstly... no hate im a complete noob here. :) . 

Secondly, I have an old pair of polk audio speakers and a Yamaha AX-596 amp. The setup is very old but I like the sound so kept them around. The other day whilst listening to music decently loudly for a few hours they start to smell like burning (which i assumed was the glue). The bass/woofers are working fine but the vocals are sounding awful. The only way to describe it is like when the aux isn't plugged the whole way in.

Opened them up and found melted glue and the padding behind the speaker was burnt. The component board also looked burnt as well. One of the components looked slightly black. 

Any ideas would be appreciated. 
Earplug View Drop Down
Old Croc
Old Croc

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Earplug Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 31 March 2018 at 1:43pm
That sounds like the crossover overheating. Best to post some pictures.

Earplugs Are For Wimps!
Speaker_Nub View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Speaker_Nub Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 31 March 2018 at 6:01pm
How do you upload photos on here?? 
RUS View Drop Down
Old Croc
Old Croc

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote RUS Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 31 March 2018 at 7:16pm
Originally posted by Speaker_Nub Speaker_Nub wrote:

How do you upload photos on here?? 

Your have to use a photo hosting website then copy the link and post it here, i used to use photobucket but i think they charge now