URL: https://forum.speakerplans.com/forum_posts.asp?TID=105402
Printed Date: 28 March 2024 at 9:32pm
Software Version: Web Wiz Forums 12.06 - https://www.webwizforums.com

Topic: Void V18's Vs Oberton 1600's in Hogs
Posted By: Ajsski99
Subject: Void V18's Vs Oberton 1600's in Hogs
Date Posted: 19 June 2020 at 5:56pm
Hi all,

Recently purchased a used Proline 3000 to run my 2x Hog scoops loaded with Oberton XB1600's in 40hm bridge, which i gauged from this forum would be more than capable.

However, the amplifier arrived via UPS smashed to pieces in the box with heavy internal and external damage, rendering it fully unusable. After a lot of back and forth, UPS have said they cannot pay for the damage, as the packaging was not up to their standards.

After doing some thinking, I am considering selling my Obertons in favour for the lower wattage Void V18-1000's. In theory, being a lower wattage driver, I shouldnt have to spend as much on a capable amplifier for them, which will be helpful as I'm currently out of pocket thanks to UPS.

If my Obertons don't sell for some reason, would underpowering them by 300 Watts or so make them inferior to the Voids? The Obertons are already loaded into the Hogs and swapping them to Voids seems like a bit of a faff, considering I'd have to make the driver hole bigger to fit the larger baffle of the Voids etc, if there won't be a signifcant difference between them.

This is probably really stupid question but I can't find too much on the forum about the XB1600's in Hogs and I dont know any other Soundsystems using them in Hogs either, so I thought I'd ask.

Replies:
Posted By: njw
Date Posted: 21 June 2020 at 12:04am
 There's no such thing as underpowering, as long it's not run into square waves the only difference between a small amp and a big amp is the small amp won't drive your speakers to their full potential. If the Obertons sound nice in those cabs then I'd leave them there.