Print Page | Close Window

2x MT122 + CW218

Printed From: Speakerplans.com
Category: General
Forum Name: Newbie Discussion
Forum Description: Newbie Discussion/Questions. Look less stupid here...
URL: https://forum.speakerplans.com/forum_posts.asp?TID=107363
Printed Date: 28 March 2024 at 10:53pm
Software Version: Web Wiz Forums 12.06 - https://www.webwizforums.com

Topic: 2x MT122 + CW218
Posted By: Rune RC
Subject: 2x MT122 + CW218
Date Posted: 21 September 2022 at 7:09am
I am very new with this line of projects. I have build two 1850 Horns before and I am fairly good with woodwork. 
I am considering to make my self a speaker system for garden parties and that sort of stuff. Private use in other words. 
My question is, would the combination of 2 x MT122 + CW218 be sufficient as a complete system? Or would I need more high tone? 
If so I would like your input on what drivers to use and what frequency divider to use?

Replies:
Posted By: Besa
Date Posted: 21 September 2022 at 9:30am
I suggest you not to use a horn loaded mid tops. MT122 have several disadvantages for the scope you aim to. 
- it weight a lot
- it has a narrow dispersion, so you need more than 2 for properly coverage and preferably you need to stack them ad a decent height, pointing them on the head of the people. You can't do this thing with only cw218. 

I've got 2x tham15 loaded with 15tbx100, I insert a mounting pole insert in the wood so I can stack 2 reflex 12"+ 1" tops on them at the correct angulation and giving the right stereophony to your music.
I make happy crowd up to 100 people party, charging all the sound system in the back of my station wagon. 

I think a combination like this could be the better option for you 

Date Posted: 21 September 2022 at 10:13am
It sounds interesting. 

Do you have an idea about where I could find the plans for the setup you suggest? 

Date Posted: 21 September 2022 at 10:19am